1. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    Correct
    Upload to somewhere like http://postimages.org/ to get a URL
    It's free,don't be tempted to join, images can end up in albums and be displayed with adverts!!
    That's how they make their money
     
  2. nae sporran

    nae sporran Volunteer Host

    Oct 29, 2014
    6,106
    Male
    Bristol
  3. Sam Luvit

    Sam Luvit Registered User

    Oct 19, 2016
    5,485
    East Sussex
    @nitram

    Do you mean this?

    Brand: Apple
    Internet Connectivity: Wi-Fi MPN: MPGT2B/A
    Carrier: Not Applicable Colour: Gold
    Storage Capacity: 32GB Type: Tablet
    Resolution: 2048 x 1536
    Operating System: iOS Processor: Dual Core
     
  4. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester

    Yes.

    As I said it could be irrelevant, there has to be some difference between Mark's iPad and yours plus others who see the same as you.
     
  5. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    #205 nitram, Oct 18, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2017
    Just noticed that when creating a new thread 'Create Thread' appears twice, I can't recollect the lower one being there in the past, I may be wrong.

    It doesn't matter as they both work although it could lead to confusion with new members.

    [​IMG]

    EDIT
    Just checked, both 'create threads' are on the help video.
    The written quick guide does not show the lower one, the image may have been cropped.
     
  6. Chemmy

    Chemmy Registered User

    Nov 7, 2011
    7,592
    Yorkshire
    Same resolution as mine. 9.7" display
     
  7. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    Re

    'Did you know?
    ...
    If you click on the message author's username, you can tag the author.'


    https://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/chat/help

    I've known for a long time that if you click on the username you get the member's Profile Page and don't tag them.

    I've just found out that if you click the @ in front of the name you get a box inviting you to tag them.
     
  8. Saffie

    Saffie Registered User

    Mar 26, 2011
    22,499
    Female
    Near Southampton
    This is what has been happening to me too and I’ve posted about it a number of times, including the conversation with Chemmy on the Test thread.
    Oddly enough it didn’t happen - or at least didn’t seem to be a problem - during those weeks when we were doing the testing. That is very strange.
    I’m not sure that the resolution can be changed on iPads. Mine is an IPad Air 2. Mine is the full size.
     
  9. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    #209 nitram, Oct 21, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2017
    My comment was specific to the help file in chat.

    In other areas I find the best way to click on the dropdown after typing start of username is to click on the avatar or space where the avatar would be, otherwise it might not take.
    If I get annoyed and double click and the first click takes the second one in several cases hits 'bold' on the format bar causing a useless [ B] [ /B] (spaces inserted so it would show).
    It was like this in testing, I just took it as par for the course not wanting to get further involved in clicking, double clicking, hovering, tapping, and double tapping.

    You can't change the resolution on iPads. I was wondering whether resolution could be the clue to solving why Mark cannot repeat the problem that some members have.
    It would be interesting to hear of other members experiences.
    For details of the problem see https://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/threads/faqs.104329/page-10#post-1457259 et seq
     
  10. Saffie

    Saffie Registered User

    Mar 26, 2011
    22,499
    Female
    Near Southampton
    #210 Saffie, Oct 22, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2017
    I wasn’t actually replying to your post Nitram but was posting in reference to the problem Sam highlighted about iPads and the dropdown from the top bar interfering when writing posts. It was the same conversation. I had with Chemmy before so thought it worth mentioning.

    This is not related to Chat where as you know I have another problem which may or may not be related to the iPad.
     
  11. Saffie

    Saffie Registered User

    Mar 26, 2011
    22,499
    Female
    Near Southampton
    #211 Saffie, Oct 22, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2017
    Where have you been Nitram and where were you during our weeks of testing?
    This is the method I’ve used since the start!

    Apologies for editing. My internet keeps failing. It is still very windy here!
     
  12. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    Unfortunately I have been following the instructions in the help file
    https://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/chat/help
    and clicking on 'the message author's username' which brings up the member's profile.
    One member of staff was doing the same and decided that the instruction could not be removed and would have to remain.
     
  13. Saffie

    Saffie Registered User

    Mar 26, 2011
    22,499
    Female
    Near Southampton
    #213 Saffie, Oct 22, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2017
    Sorry Nitram. Please see edited post. The wrong part of your post was quoted. I did edit and change this before I left to walk the dog but it obviously didn’t go through.
    @nitram
    The @ and starting the name to bring up the avatar was what Inwas referring to.
    I don’t think I’ve experienced the other thing you mentioned.
     
  14. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    Strange, your edit was 13 minutes before my post.
    If I have been in a thread for any length of time I always refresh the browser to catch any later posts.
     
  15. Saffie

    Saffie Registered User

    Mar 26, 2011
    22,499
    Female
    Near Southampton
    The edit was written and then I walked the dog but when I returned I saw that the edit hadn’t appeared as my internet had gone. I had already edited twice as I realised the error straight away but and neither could go s the Internet was down! Frustrating. Been a bit of a fraught morning one way and another.
     
  16. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    Has anybody else noticed that at the bottom of all quotes, full or partial, a bar with two arrows
    2017-11-02_174100.png
    has appeared.
    No apparent difference in functionality, just an interesting change, clicking on the arrows has no effect.
     
  17. Saffie

    Saffie Registered User

    Mar 26, 2011
    22,499
    Female
    Near Southampton
    Not on my iPad.
     
  18. Chemmy

    Chemmy Registered User

    Nov 7, 2011
    7,592
    Yorkshire

    Nope, I'm not seeing that.

    Edit: on the android tablet or Windows laptop.
     
  19. nitram

    nitram Registered User

    Apr 6, 2011
    19,277
    Male
    North Manchester
    Just checked.
    I only get it on Chrome 62.0.3202.75 (64 bit), not Firefox or Edge
    W10 1709
     
  20. jugglingmum

    jugglingmum Registered User

    Jan 5, 2014
    5,323
    Female
    Chester
    lost track of if this is the right place to post this

    I have a few (only about 6) watched threads. I get alerts sometimes when there are items posted and sometimes not. I thought the purpose of a watched thread was to get an alert when someone posted?

    And no I am not seeing that bar @nitram - and I am on a PC using Chrome and W10
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.