When to step in or not step in

ConcernedSon74

Jun 26, 2023
My mum is 85, lives alone and has been diagnosed with mixed dementia. I live in another part of the country and my brother lives 30 mins or so away from her. We got LPAs for health & finance done a while ago. I am a nurse so am familiar with some aspects of dementia and dementia care.

My brother and I are trying to work out when we should step in and effectively make some decisions in my mum's best interest. She is still very independent in most aspects (mobility, personal care, maintaining her home). She passed her driving assessment two days before she was diagnosed and will be re-assessed in 6 months time. Despite all these positives my mum is definitely starting to struggle with managing her day to day life. Most recently she set her burglar alarm incorrectly and the alarm went off and being deaf she didn't hear it or the neighbours trying to contact her about it. I speak with her every day and she frequently struggles to remember where I live/am. She can almost never recall what she has done in the day or last couple of hours. Periodically she presents herself to neighbours appearing confused and asking them where she has been that afternoon. She had a flood recently which my brother dealt with but one carpet was completely soaked and she wanted to leave it down until my brother stepped in and took it up. My brother and I have not been accessing her bank accounts but have been keeping track of her bills and subscriptions etc and making sure they are still up to date for 18 months or so now.