Mums dementia

lizzybo

Jun 6, 2014
Hi all, I'm new to this so bear with...mum was diagnosed about 18 months ago with Alzheimer's. My parents haven't 'told' anyone, a few people have actually Sussed it out for themselves, but mum has this feeling of shame and embarrassment and doesn't want anyone to know. This makes life very difficult for my dad to cope day to day, he is not in the best of health, has cancer in various areas, but generally does very well taking care of mum. She still functions pretty well but has become repetitive constantly to the point where dad is getting concerned about his own sanity! Anyway my problem is that mum won't go to or 'allow' dad to go to any respite type groups as she doesn't want anyone to see them there. I help when and where I can each week but have a family of my own and a full time. Job. I need to take care of dad so he can continue looking after mum but how do I do this when they won't accept any outside help? Force them? I am fearful that something will happen to dad and I just don't know what will happen next, mum can't live on her own, and living with us is not an option. My hubby and I are entering middle age I suppose and have plans,of which being a full time carer isn't one of them, that sounds awful I know. I appreciate anyone's thoughts as I feel continually stressed and worried all the time, which can't be good. Sorry this is so long winded folks

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
Elizabeth, I don't know where you are based but the procedure in Scotland would be some follow up after diagnosis eg from a CPN who would monitor medication or from the social services to assess her care. Has she had this done? If so there might be a contact number that you could phone and express your concerns to.