multiple phone calls

worn out

Jul 4, 2014
hello im new to this and wonder if any one has to deal with multiple phone calls from their caree. it doesnt sound vital but it is one of the things that is really wearing me down.my mum, who has vascular dementia , phones constantly(24 times today and the record is 49 times). I work at home and it is incredibly disruptive.none of the calls are vital and she does have a care line buzzer for emergencies. If I ignore them(guiltily)she just phones every 2 minutes til I answer. This also fills my message box therefore blocking business calls. Am I being unkind ignoring any of them?Also she can be quite nasty on the phone which upsets me.

Beate

May 21, 2014
London
Does she live on her own? Does she have any carers or sitters coming in who could distract her? How about a Day Care Centre? I am afraid unless she is distracted by other people or things she will not stop calling as she is no longer aware that this will disturb you. All she know is that she feels lonely and wants to talk to you as a reassurance.

Dave K

Account Closed
Apr 14, 2014
Barnsley (UK)
hello im new to this and wonder if any one has to deal with multiple phone calls from their caree. it doesnt sound vital but it is one of the things that is really wearing me down.my mum, who has vascular dementia , phones constantly(24 times today and the record is 49 times). I work at home and it is incredibly disruptive.none of the calls are vital and she does have a care line buzzer for emergencies. If I ignore them(guiltily)she just phones every 2 minutes til I answer. This also fills my message box therefore blocking business calls. Am I being unkind ignoring any of them?Also she can be quite nasty on the phone which upsets me.

Welcome

Have you thought about getting a 2nd telephone line, it does not cost much and can be serviced through the same BT telephone cable coming into your house, you just need an additional box