I'm a newbie here, I'm my 96 yo nans carer

Butterfly00

Jun 1, 2014
Adelaide Australia
Until fairly recently despite her age (96) nans been doing well, the last 2 weeks have been a rapid decline, she's now confined to a wheelchair, incont, little to no speech, and hasn't been able to feed herself, in the last 24 hours though she's now refusing food and drink the point of pursing her lips shut, I didn't know if anyone else has had this experience or any ideas where I go from here, professionals haven't brought up the idea of a feeding tube, but the little research I've done on the subject doesn't look positive, any ideas welcome

legolover

Jul 25, 2011
West Midlands
I think you should aim for little and often, things like jellies, ice lolly, mousse, that have high fluid content. It doesn't seem appropriate to me to be over forceful. Do you in your heart of hearts feel that a feeding tube is the right way to go?

Rathbone

May 17, 2014
West Sussex
Could you tell if she really does not want to eat at all because she realises she needs to move on? My experience of MIL was six years in a NH during which time she was more or less level in all her abilities, such as they were. During the last two weeks of her life, she repeatedly told us she had had enough and she set her jaw and "refused" everything - food/drink/personal care. The NH of course ploughed on, as they are required to do, but she had her way in the end and she slipped peacefully asleep two weeks later. For someone with such longevity as your nan, I would think a feeding tube is an unacceptable intrusion. Perhaps the time has come? Stay strong, be guided by her and what you think she would want you to do if that is at all possible. Intolerable for you. Please keep in touch. Sending loving thoughts.X:)

Butterfly00

Jun 1, 2014
Adelaide Australia