Your tips: coping with personality changes

Status
Not open for further replies.

HarrietD

Staff Member
Staff member
Apr 29, 2014
London
Every issue our magazine includes real-life experiences, and they'd love to hear from you.

Do you have any advice about coping with how it feels if a person's personality changes in challenging ways as their dementia progresses?

Perhaps frustration sometimes makes them angry, or even aggressive?

Maybe they’ve become emotionally distant or withdrawn?

Or lower inhibitions might mean their behaviour causes embarrassment or concern?

Please post below or email magazine@alzheimers.org.uk before 4 March.

Thanks everyone :)

sheepfield

Feb 4, 2024
I would say don't take it personally. I used to work as a home help and a customer once told me that I was useless. I was feeling a bit delicate at the time with things going on in my home life and felt a bit upset at first but then reminded myself that it's just the illness. I've also had a couple of customers making inappropriate comments about my physical appearance let's say and thought that that was probably their illness too.
Sometimes my lovely, kind, gentle mother in law is grouchy with me. I'll have to try to remember some graceful exits from situations if feeling uncomfortable with shouting and lewdness etc. I'm hoping that 'I have to nip out to an appointment' will work if I need to escape a grumpy mother in law for a while till she forgets what she's cross about.

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
The lord alone knows alone one person with dementia is hard enough, you're a saint doing it everyday sheepfield, thank you.
K

sheepfield

Feb 4, 2024
And customers with learning disabilities and Parkinson's disease 🙂
I usually had at least half a dozen customers a week with dementia with their different preferences and habits.

Last edited:

HarrietD

Staff Member
Staff member
Apr 29, 2014
London