Should my mother wear shoes or slippers in care home? Does her choice come into it?

Noorza

Jun 8, 2012
I am so sorry to hear of your situation, it's must be awful to only be allowed supervised contact for those short times to see your Mum. Has the home put the same restrictions on all visitors because if so that's awful.

I have no experience of care homes other than a neighbour is in one and they let me in to say a quick hello any time, they're very welcoming.

Can the home provide you with a timetable or schedule of the activities that they've tried to encourage your mum to do, even if she hasn't joined in.

I'm short of ideas here as it seems you have tried everything, hopefully someone with more experience will be along soon.

As for shoes or slippers, whichever is safer depending on the style I think anyway. If they are both the same it should be her choice IMO.

silkcut

Sep 27, 2013
thank you for your reponse

I am so sorry to hear of your situation, it's must be awful to only be allowed supervised contact for those short times to see your Mum. Has the home put the same restrictions on all visitors because if so that's awful.

I have no experience of care homes other than a neighbour is in one and they let me in to say a quick hello any time, they're very welcoming.

Can the home provide you with a timetable or schedule of the activities that they've tried to encourage your mum to do, even if she hasn't joined in.

I'm short of ideas here as it seems you have tried everything, hopefully someone with more experience will be along soon.

As for shoes or slippers, whichever is safer depending on the style I think anyway. If they are both the same it should be her choice IMO.[/QUO 2

Last edited:

Shash7677

Sep 15, 2012
Nuneaton, warwickshire