My wee granny recently diagnosed with early stage dementia

smeenan

May 13, 2014
I am new to this...my wee granny has been recently diagnosed with early stage dementia...she is quite alert and able to do most everything for herself. She can be a bit forgetful at times and may forget what day it is.. she has been given donezepril(think that is the spelling) and from she has started it she wakes every morning with a splitting headache and can be quite emotional crying etc. she has only been taking the tablets for 4 days and now she has said she doesn't like the way they make her feel so she is refusing to take them I can physically see that the tablets make her withdrawn and then when they wear off she is agitated and just wants to get out of the house and walk about.....we are having a hard time in convincing her of her condition and that the tablets are there to help her. she seems to be in a state of denial and this is causing great upset for her and our family. we don't know how we can progress and get her to take the tablets.. any advice, tips and information would be helpful

clareglen

Jul 9, 2013
Cumbria
Tell doc & get the tablets stopped, they don't agree with everyone. My mum was on them had every side effect & no benefit. She was crying & stomach cramps & aggressive. My mum was on these first, didn't work, then tried Rivastigmine patches which interfered with Parkinson's meds & no benefit. Now she's on Memantine which I thought were working til today. They seem to knock her off Parkinson's wise & she gets an anxiety episode about hour & half to 2 hours after taking half a tablet but I thought her mood was better in the afternoons but she's been terrible today.

jaymor

Jul 14, 2006
South Staffordshire
Hello Smeenan and welcome to TP.

There are other medications that can help your Grandmother so have a word with her doctor and tell him/her about the symptoms she is experiencing. Hopefully there will be something that will suit her and help her.