Mum’s first night in a care home

norahmc

Jun 23, 2023
Hi, my brother and I have been caring for our mum, at home, for 5 1/2 years, since our dad died. While dad was alive we were not aware of the extent of her issues as he picked up the slack himself. She was subsequently diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. We have been able to keep her at home, with the support of carers but the time has come for her to move into care. She was spending too much time alone, becoming unsafe and declining. On the surface, mum presents as quite able and is physically reasonably fit. She doesn’t believe there is anything wrong with her. We found a lovely care home, very near to where I live and mum moved yesterday. We were a bit vague about the move saying that it might be for six months as we didn’t want to distress her and her concept of time is poor now. She has lived in the family home for fifty years. She is a self-founder. The move went fairly smoothly and although it felt awful leaving her there, it wasn’t too bad. This morning she rang me at 6 am saying she wanted to go home. She had no idea what the time was and told me that all the others were in the pub and coming back ****** I will be going in to see her later but am dreading it now. Sorry for the long post but I suppose I am looking for advice on how to handle the situation - and also reassurance. I know it’s early days and we can’t bring her back home but what if she doesn’t settle……….

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
Welcome to Dementia Support Forum @norahmc .
Wanting to go home when moving into care is very common. First of all don’t panic, it’ll take time for your mum to get used to the routine of the place and for the staff to get to know her.
when you visit today talk to the carers about how to help your mum settle. It sounds a bit counter intuitive but sometimes not visiting for a few days so your mum can focus on getting help from the staff might help.