Hospitalisation and decline in symptoms

Yadoca925

Jan 21, 2024
Hi,
This is my first time posting, just joined the forum. My mother in law (82) was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and vascular dementia last year. She has remained pretty much independent at home with one daily visit from a carer and a daily meal service. She was able to take care of her own washing and dressing. Also able to have a chat even if it was all a bit random and she’d often find conversations difficult to follow. Short term memory was really bad.

The reason I’m posting is to ask about sudden decline in symptoms/progression. Mum in law had a nasty fall on Wednesday, we think she fell down some stairs, she knocked herself out, had a cut and lump on her head, broke a rib and had some cuts that required stitches. She spent 24 hours in A&E while they assessed her, then they had to move her to a closed Covid ward because she has a positive swab test. Since then we’ve also been told they have discovered a bacterial lung infection and atrial fibrillation.

Updates in the last 2 days from the ward sister are that Mum in Law is refusing basic care, including some medications and food/drink, and is talking constantly with imaginary people. She has had IV antibiotics for 3 days now. She is also unaware of where she is or why. This is a significant change in her cognitive abilities. None of the medical staff have mentioned delirium, but have asked us if this behaviour is different to how she usually is. They have also said they are putting in place Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

We just aren’t sure whether this is likely to be a permanent decline in her dementia. Has anyone else been in the situation where a family member with dementia has had a sudden and significant decline after an accident or illness? Or could this be temporary due to illness.

yoy

Jun 19, 2022