CoP worries pleae help

Ruby78

Oct 30, 2023
Hello everyone 😊

This is my first time posting on here and looking for some support please.

I was caring for my dad at home and SS placed him in a dementia nursing home against our wishes due to his carw needs (no POA). Either SS or NH messed up to start with because they registered him as not self funding in error. To cut a long story short over a year later, after SS threatening to report me for safeguarding due to our rent payments coming out of his account I'm at the stage of applying for CoP but feel a bit lost re a couple of things.

How quickly do they freeze the outgoings from the account after applying for deputyship?

My Dad owns a property with no mortgage but how do I deal with the property bills during the 18 months or so the CoP application is processing?

This has all been very stressful obviously Dad's care bill is not my debt but if I leave the NH and SS to deal with the arrears and ongoing car bill would they place a charge on his property or/and recoup the money in different ways?

Thanks in advance for your support

Scarlet Lady

Apr 6, 2021
Hi, @Ruby78 and welcome to the forum. I hope we’ll be of help and assistance to you. However, I have to admit to being a little puzzled at your situation. Forgive me if I’ve misunderstood, but you seem to be saying that your dad was moved to a nursing home by the local authority because it was deemed in his best interests to do so and they believed he wasn’t self funding.
However, he has a property which he owns outright, which presumably the LA has recently found about which changes the picture entirely. You say SS is going to report you for safeguarding issues over rent payments made? I’m sorry, but that doesn’t make sense to me. Rent payments on what? Who is applying for Deputyship here, you or the La?
Could you supply a bit more detail here? Sorry if I seem a bit obtuse.

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
I'm also confused