A difficult time!!

Sunseeker1977

Jan 3, 2015
North Yorkshire
I am not a regular poster, but from time to time I feel so overwhelmed that I have to tell someone ... I try not to burden my family with how I feel... as they have their own issues.
I have been caring full time for my wife since 2012 and have had many ups and downs on the journey... Recently I find myself resenting her and I really don't like myself for the way I feel... endless unco-operative trips to the toilet ... washing machine in continuous use from incontinence... spending hours feeding someone who doesn't want to be fed ... trying to get her to drink through clenched teeth... not to mention the medication routine!! Add to this broken sleep every night and the picture becomes clear! I have lost all motivation for most of my hobbies and interests ... I just don't know how to break this chain! I have morning carers that get her dressed, I get sitters 8 hours a week and I get regular respite ... it used to help but now it just papers over the cracks!! We have been together over 50 years and have been married 46 ... We had a great marriage and I love her so much ... So why am I feeling so down?? I lament what we had and what we could have had... I am jealous of happy retired couples... I cant even feel enthusiastic when our grandchildren visit!!...Nothing seems to matter now and I feel that I am just drifting into oblivion!! As I write this she is sat beside me with her head between her knees, I try to sit her up but 2 minutes later she is back with head between her knees!! I sit her up again.. and on and on! I feel awful and disloyal writing this but I have to share with someone! I think it might be time for some counselling!!

SeaSwallow

Volunteer Moderator
Oct 28, 2019