What to do?!

Sal73

Oct 13, 2013
Hi there. I am new to talking point. My dad was diagnosed with Alzheimer's in July and since then my mum and siblings have been trying to come to terms with this horrid disease. Although we are naturally worried about my dad, our main concern at the moment is my mum as his main carer and how she is coping (or not in this case). I don't think she wants to face things until she has to and then when difficult situations arise she doesn't know what to do and spirals into a depressive state herself. It is like she is swimming against the tide rather than with it. The situation is awful for all of us. We have been trying to encourage her to get help but she insists all the time that no one can do anything. It is frustrating for us children and we don't know what to do or who to turn to. My father is currently suffering from a UTI and with this some unusual behaviours have arisen which has made this issue come to the fore even more. Dad has been assigned a case worker. Should we contact her? Sorry if I seem clueless but my mum is quite selective with what she tells us and when. Something tells me we need to take charge but how? Does anyone have any advice?

starryuk

Nov 8, 2012
Hello Sal,

Welcome to TP.

This is such a worrying situation for you and your mum. I was wondering if you and your mum could go together to your nearest Alzheimer Society Centre. If you make an appointment to go in for a chat, I think you will find it very informative and supportive. You could explain your worries about how your mum is/is not coping ahead of time.

If you have already done this, my apologies. Just that I received great help from there. Tips on how to deal with situations, information about help available and advice on applying for any entitlements as well as some TLC!