What does an Addenbrooke’s score of 76 mean?

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Welcome @David Joseph

I'm sorry I have no experience of this test but would have hoped you would have had a more thorough explanation

My husband was tested with the MMSE test and he scored 23 out of 30

I think your best bet would be to go back to whoever tested you or your doctor and ask what mild Alzheimer`s means in your reality.

David Joseph

Oct 20, 2023
Welcome @David Joseph

I'm sorry I have no experience of this test but would have hoped you would have had a more thorough explanation

My husband was tested with the MMSE test and he scored 23 out of 30

I think your best bet would be to go back to whoever tested you or your doctor and ask what mild Alzheimer`s means in your reality.

David Joseph

Oct 20, 2023
Hi Grannie G,
I’m sorry. I think I didn’t put my question too well. I’m well acquainted with Alzheimer’s because my mother and paternal gran also had dementia. I should have asked the tester at the time but didn’t have the chance to at the time because Time was at a premium and I was upset because I knew I had not done well.
My question should be, if I get a chance to ask someone, is, “How mild is this mild? How much time do I have?”
Thanks very much for replying to my first post?
I am very grateful to you for your response and to the Forum. It is very helpful during these dark days for the NHS.
Thanks again,
David Joseph

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
I’m no medic @David Joseph but I would say mild means very early stages

No one would be able to tell you how much time you have left. You have experience of dementia in your mother and grandmother and I suspect both had very different levels of progression and challenges

I know it would take strength but if you are able to live in the present and make the best of what life is offering you I’m sure that form of positivity would give you the best on offer.