Slip Slidin` Away

BillyF

May 7, 2014
Bonney Lake, Washington, USA
Hi all, I'm new to TP and have browsed several of the groups and already have gathered some ideas on managing this disease.

I'm 66 and all six of the males on my fathers side going back 3 generations have had full Alzheimer's by age 76. The slipping began at age 66. At age 64 I noticed that I was slipping on memory, complex problem solving, and a general inability to follow fast flowing conversations to the point I was not very effective at work so I retired while still some modicum of productivity. Now as I near 67, I am noticing significant memory issues daily, lost items, forgetting activities, losing track of time, and needing more naps.

When my grandfathers sucommed to dimentia, the 'old man's friend' took them and I intend to follow in their footsteps, but in the mean time is there anything that can be done to slow the process down? My GP keeps my body healthy, but at the rate I'm going, I probably won't know when I reach 74.

I'm blessed with a loving family who watched my dad and uncle with the disease, and my father-in-law is within a few years of full on dementia, so we can talk about it and I don't get upset when they correct me or when I forget so much.

Any thoughts on how to slow down the progression?

BeckyJan

Nov 28, 2005
Derbyshire
Hello BillyF and welcome to Talking Point.

You seem very positive about yourself and I wonder if you have yet had a diagnosis. If so is there any chance that you could get medication such as Aricept (Donepezil). In the UK that is a regular prescription for someone with Alzheimers although much depends on test results and possible reactions to other medication.

In my husband's case I do believe Aricept slowed down the progress of his illness and there were many quality years before the very last stage. I believe it is worth you discussing this with the GP.

I hope you find the Forum helpful.
Best wishes

BillyF

May 7, 2014