NEW CARE ASSISTANT JOB - Need tips/guidance/advice

Living Doll

Jan 31, 2023
Morning everyone, on this cold and frosty morning (bbbrrrhhhh). I have just started a brand new job in a brand new care home (opened November last year) as a care assistant. I have never done this job before but have done some online training, attended face to face training and am now shadowing my colleagues. I have never washed anyone before (personal care) in my life and the thought of cleaning someone's dentures scares me. I am keeping my head down and doing anything the unit manager tells me to do, from laying the dining room table, changing beds, loading the dishwasher and providing refreshments. When the home is full, I hope to apply for the position of an activities co-ordinator/Lifestyle Coach (which is the job I was doing previously in a dementia home) The Manager is aware of this and took me on, on the premise of this, but suggested that I join as a care assistant so I fully understand how care homes operate. Which I personally feel is a good idea. Of all the residents we have so far (just 5 at the moment), we have one lady that has dementia and I fulfil my day making her day special. I believe that being in the dementia field is my passion and I know I can make a difference. So today, if anyone has any tips/guidance/advice on how to keep going and getting to grips with being a care assistant until my dream job comes (activities), please reply. Love to hear from you all. xxxx

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
Glad you've got a new job @Living Doll. I think starting as a carer will really stand you in good stead as you work towards becoming the activities co-ordinator.
Looking forward to hearing how it all goes.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Living Doll

Good to see you on a new thread :)
Your previous thread was quite lively with us all chipping in with suggestions about what activities you could do with dementia residents!