Need help!!!! New to all of this

chelle92

Jun 13, 2014
Virginia
Hello everyone. Im new to TP, three months ago I quit my job to be a fulltime caregiver to both of my grandparents. My grandfather is 89yrs old and my grandmother is 86yrs old. This is all overwhelming to me as I am only 22yrs old.
They are both in middle stage alz/dementia my grandmother is having a harder time. She keps asking to go home(she has lived in the same house for the last 60yrs) and gets angry if I tell her she is at home. The last few days it has gotten so bad that when I went to use the bathroom the left out the front door, luckly a neighbor saw her and walked her around the block and then brought her back home. When she came inside she told me her friend came and took her for a walk.
I cant get her do do any activities all she wants to do is hide all her belongings then says people stole them. She used to love coloring pictures and now she refuses to do that.
She is having anger issues, and I am unable to get her to stay in bed at night. She will get about 30min of sleep then she gets up and wanders the house. I put her back in bed and its the ssme thing every thirty minutes.
How can I get both of them to believe im their granddaughter and not a stranger in their house.
Any advice or sugestions will help!!!!!

Sent from my Galaxy Tab3 Mobile app

marionq

Apr 24, 2013
Scotland
You can't. That is dementia in a nutshell. I doubt that anyone of 22 on their own can do this job. The physical side of feeding, laundry, washing and dressing of two old sick people would be bad enough but you are also trying to keep them healthy and entertained. You need some help and advice from your local authority and/ or Age UK, Alz Soc. etc. Get them out to give you a carers assessment and to see what they can offer by way of assistance.

Don't be too much of martyr protesting that you can manage or they will just let you. Insist that you need back up.