My Nan has dementia and she lives with us

Becky_watson

Jul 30, 2023
Hi, I’ve never done anything like this before so if I get something wrong please let me know and I’ll try not to do it again,

As the title suggests my Nan (mum’s mum) lives with us and she has for nearly 8 years now I think, she was diagnosed with vascular dementia and Alzheimer’s after we knew she had dementia because we knew she was scared of it so we chose to get her diagnosed when she didn’t know what it meant and wouldn’t be scared of it, I can’t remember how long it’s been, my mum is her main carer at home but I help out whenever and however I can even if it’s just taking over from mum when she’s getting upset.
we have about 14 hours (I think) of respite a week from a company called crossroads who I would really recommend, that have been amazing with Nan and they are the loveliest people I know, they come and sit with her and play games or do some aqua-painting or colouring or really anything Nan wants for 2-3 hours a day and my whole family is immensely grateful to them and we know that 14 hours a week (non on weekends) is more than most people may get and we’re very thankful to have that time, which is why I feel so guilty for getting upset or stressed or annoyed even because my Nan can’t understand us and we can’t understand her, her dementia is advanced to the point she doesn’t make any sense to us when she talks and we don’t know what it is she’s saying and I feel guilty for not understanding her or for feeling these negative emotions even though I know it’s not her fault or her choice but it’s her disease that’s causing these symptoms of hers.