My husband has mixed dementia and hydrocephalus.

JayJay2u

Nov 27, 2023
I have been caring for my husband for 2 years and I have had no break at all. My GP thinks I have “carer stress” but in the last six months I’ve noticed changes in myself. I was told yesterday that one of my husband’s old colleagues has Lewy Bidders es Dementia. Out of curiosity today I looked up the symptoms and was surprised to see certain similarities in the changes I have noticed about me.

Firstly, about five months ago I sometimes saw spiders on the ceiling of my bedroom at night. The spiders were the size ze of the palm of my hand and had more than 8 legs. The scampered across the ceiling and then disappeared into the architrave. I’m not frightened of spiders. I’ve also seen small shoals of fish go across the ceiling and , finally, was aware of a snake near the headboard. All hallucinations. I mentioned it to my GP and she said it could possibly be the increase in the dose of Sertralline. I returned to the lower dose and the hallucinations have reduced but not gone completely. I have always been able to sleep very well but I am always tired all the time but at night I am wide awake. I read sometimes until 3am or 4am before putting the light out and going to sleep. Finally, I have little interest in food and quite frequently leave my meal half way through.

I noticed that all of the above are also symptoms of LBD. I’m 75 and find it more difficult to concentrate on tasks, use my computer and I also forget things. Obviously as a carer for my husband, I am greatly concerned that I too may have the beginnings of dementia. Any advice would be welcome.

Thankyou.

northumbrian_k

Volunteer Host
Mar 2, 2017
Newcastle
Hi @JayJay2u and welcome to Dementia Support Forum. This is a great place to benefit from the experience of others. I am sorry to hear about your husband and your own health concerns.