LPA and buying assets

garfieldthecat

Jan 16, 2010
Bristol
www.thecatkins.co.uk
Hi,

This is my first post but having spent time looking at quite a few I realise you are a friendly bunch with loads of answers so here goes!
Mum was recently diagnosed with vascular dementia and is currently occupying a transition bed at a local residential home while her care needs are assessed. Both my brother and I are looking at obtaining Power of Attorney, assuming Mum's consultant says she is fit to understand the process. If not we will be going down the COP route.
The thing is, my brother is interested in buying Mum's house, which is going to have to be sold to pay her fees. While I have no problem with him doing so, would it be seen as a conflict of interests if he wants to be granted LPA and then buy Mum's largest asset?
Any comments/advice welcome, thanks.

alfjess

Jul 10, 2006
south lanarkshire
Hi
I am no expert, so don't take this as gospel, but if you have your Mum's house valued and your brother pays the market value for the house, I don't see a problem.

I think you would probably be doing SS a favour, because there would be more fluid assets to pay for her care.

As for COP, my understanding is as long as you are doing everything and keeping accounts in Mum's best interests, you should be alright.

But as I say, I am no expert.
Could you phone/write to COP and ask their advice?

Take care
Alfjess

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
I "think" what you do is get a trustee appointed to oversee this one aspect to ensure there isn't a conflict of interest.

http://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/showthread.php?t=20089&highlight=trustee+property+sale

Bear in mind that Bruce (in the above thread) was operating with an EPA as it was then - they are now LPAs and the rules may be different. I do think, though, if you obtain two or three valuations and then average them out, you should be quite safe.

P.S. And welcome to Talking Point - you're correct: we are a friendly bunch :)

Last edited: