Feeling lost

DPurple

May 13, 2023
Hi, I'm new. I have been supporting my Dad for 7 years since my mum passed away.
My dad is complicated as he has various health issues, (Including Diabetes) which have meant he does not have a formal diagnosis.
He has been in and out of hospital and close to death 3 times in the last 4 years. However, following hospital stay last June, Social services placed him in a care home. Lots of assessments. The care home have tried 4 times to have his capacity checked, but he point bank refuses to speak to mind clinic and has enough capacity to know / remember enough, to answer the familiar few questions. And sometimes he does seem to understand and it's like having Dad back. But it's up and down.
The care home are great. He is now safer than he was at home. He has 24hr nurse care.
However, he is now classed as pallative due to heart failure, kidney failure and liver failure. And his refusal to have any further bloodtests or treatment. (This is partially his understanding/processing, but also grief as he just wants to die and be with my mum.)
The care home are meeting his needs and he has been stable for a year.

I know we are so much more fortunate with how my father is affected compared to many others and each story is so different.
But, I feel I'm running out of ways to support or help him. Every appointment/ medical professional takes him at face value. Having to explain his needs over and over, to enable THEM to be safe in treating him as well as him being safe recieving treatment is exhausting. They are responding better slowly but he can be quiet believable initially. And they don't always have the time to wait for him to process.
It's like everyone exknowledges he has dementia, but there is no formal diagnosis, so no support.

I've found info and supported him as best I can. Due to the care needs of my children, I couldn't support him full time