Ashamed of myself

JuliaB

May 25, 2023
Hi, I hit my partner this afternoon, something I have never done before.
I feel ashamed & sad that I hit out with frustration, rather than walking away & counting to ten.
She is ok, but shocked at the violence in me. She will have forgotten it by morning, but I won’t & I am wondering if I should tell someone? Maybe an anger management course? I really don’t know what to do as it frightened me the extent of my temper.

BeeBeeDee

Apr 19, 2023
I am so sorry for you and can imagine the guilt you are feeling. You do get pushed to the absolute limit and there is only so much a person can take. I dont know about telling somebody- I would only tell somebody you can really trust am sure you have learnt from that. Big hug to you X

My Mum's Daughter

Feb 8, 2020
You don't need anger management, this is a clear sign that you need help. If you don't have carers, you need them or if your partner is more than you can cope with, perhaps it's time for a care home.

Please stop feeling guilty and accept that you need some time for yourself.

SherwoodSue

Jun 18, 2022
I think you should have a real heart to heart with your GP. This is carer burnout. It has to be addressed.

No need to give in to guilt, you didn’t ask for this but you do need to act now. You can’t change the past but you might be able to influence the future for better. Seek help now for both your sakes.

scotlass

Jul 9, 2023
I feel so sorry for you, this is a sign that you need some help, you can't go on any longer with out it , we are mere mortals and can only take so much..

CAL Y

Jul 17, 2021
I feel ashamed & sad that I hit out with frustration, rather than walking away & counting to ten.
She is ok, but shocked at the violence in me. She will have forgotten it by morning, but I won’t & I am wondering if I should tell someone? Maybe an anger management course? I really don’t know what to do as it frightened me the extent of my temper.