At the end of my tether...

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Bet that visit made you feel young...not:rolleyes:. I’ve got a pair of crutches you can use to help take the weight off your knee. I know, about as much use as a chocolate teapot:D. Seriously though, do take care of your body.

It will take a while for your dad to reacclimatise, hopefully he will not feel up to misbehaving whilst you are at work. Could you suggest to your brother that he pops in, after all he didn’t pick up from hospital as promised?

BTW @Grannie G thats a lovely photo.

I've got my own crutches thanks. Buried in the under stairs cupboard - for emergencies :cool:. I'm not good at keeping still so I went for a walk by the river yesterday (only a short one) and picked some blackberries. It was only a short walk but I'm frustratingly slow :mad:. I got halfway down the hill (downhill is worst for my knee) and wished I'd taken my bike.

Brother eventually visited dad yesterday and fed him a trifle. That'll be the first and only time he see him this month :(

Dad has potassium deficiency on top of everything else (which is being treated now) and has a poor appetite. My daughter is going to bake him some Huel cookies and I'm going to buy a tin of slim fast and make it with whole milk until he starts eating again. Plus get lots of bananas and other fruit for him to pick at.
He's still got about 3 stone of unneeded padding so can stand to lose a bit of weight but he won't recover if he doesn't eat.
I'd rather dad didn't wake in the morning than have to watch him slowly fade away.

Bunpoots

Volunteer Host
Apr 1, 2016
Nottinghamshire
Dad's having to be fed now so SS will be called to do an assessment. How much more indignity does the poor man have to go through?

He has no quality of life, no autonomy, I can't even get him in the car to take him out.

I want it to end now...

love.dad.but..

Jan 16, 2014
Kent