Short-term disability for FrontoTemporal Dementia--help!

kirgina

Feb 1, 2017
US - Virginia
I am 47 and have just been diagnosed with FTD. I have some difficulty with my speech, as well as behavior (introverted, depressed and anxious). Within the past two months, I had a "transient amnesia" moment and went home from work, thinking all I had was a panic attack, when in actuality I got lost at my workplace (and didn't remember this until 4 days later). I have been out on short-term disability for 3 months; my workplace allows 5, then defers to long-term. I'd like to move back home to be near family. I THINK I might be able to handle work if I return in a couple of months--I'm a therapist--but I'm scared that I won't be able to handle the responsibilities, as I am not as organized as I used to be and have some memory issues.

Does anyone have experience regarding benefits? If I move home, I would have to quit my job and start work at a new place. Do I tell my new employer that I have FTD? If I start working and find that I can't keep up with responsibilities, can I apply for long-term disability with my former employer (of a different state)? Can I get SSI and still work part-time? I just don't have any clue about what resources are available to me if I quit my job that I've been with for 6 years--and has a great benefits package. Please help!

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hi Kirgina, welcome to TP
I'm guessing that as you refer to "SSI" and a "different state" that you're posting from the USA. This is a UK based site although there are many people from all over the world including many in the USA on here and each country has very different rules so if you're in the USA it may worth amending your post to include this.
K

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello kirkina and welcome to the forum.

Im sorry that you are having trouble at work. Getting lost must have been quite frightening.