Obsession with buying food

sunny beach hut

Jul 1, 2014
Hi everyone - I'm new to talking point and hope one of you may be able to either give advice or commiserate!
My mum is in the early stages of alzheimer's (diagnosed approx 7 months ago). She lives alone and has an obsession thinking she doesn't have enough food in the house. This is despite her having cupboards and freezer/fridge full of food. THis causes friends and relatives problems when she calls them saying she doesn't have food.
My reminders to her when I speak to her are met with resistance. I gently ask her to look in the fridge or cupboards but she won't listen. Is this usual or does anyone have advice please.
It may sound trivial having seen some other problems on here but it causes friction between us and I don't want that.

Sue J

Dec 9, 2009
Hi sunny beach hut
Welcome to TP
If your Mum has no memory of buying food, at all, she won't listen to someone telling her that she has so she needs some, to her it's not an obsession, as she has no memory, but to someone looking on is exactly what it looks like.

I have far too much food in for the same reason, I totally forget when in a bad phase what I have bought, I have no recall. When I come into a better phase I find things, some of which I still don't recall buying and other things which I remember buying but have no access to that memory when I am bad.

Since being unwell I often do not feel up to going out so need to make sure I have enough in to manage when I am bad without bothering others.

Could you maybe ask her if she has any spare ...... as you need some and it would save you going to the shops? Just a thought but sure others will be along too.
Best wishes
Sue

Last edited:

chris53

Nov 9, 2009
London