Newbie here - Mum just diagnosed

Meva6

Feb 29, 2024
Hello, Mum just diagnosed with mixed Dementia. Altzheimers and Vascular. The family have been struggling to get a diagnosis evn though we and her care home have been pushing. Relieved in a strange way. Struggling to deal with Mums anger and mood sewings. I live 450 miles away and sadly we lost both of my sisters and Dad. So coping alone with the guilt and frustration of trying to help Mum. Otherwise a happy cheery person living in a beautiful part of the UK. I work as a Coastguard, Event Medic amd Responder for the ambulance service. PS:-i supposedly retired 2 years ago...

Gosling

Volunteer Host
Aug 2, 2022
South West UK
Hello @Meva6 and firstly welcome to this friendly and supportive forum. There is a lot of shared experience of dementia to be found here, so I am glad you have found us.
I am sorry to read about your Mum's recent diagnosis. It's tough even if you were half expecting it. And it is a particular challenge for you living so far away. I hope you are happy that the care she is receiving is of a good standard. That will be some comfort at least.
The following link may help for information:
Do have a good look around the various sections of the forum and ask any particular questions you may like to.
This is a good safe space to share only what you want to; and I know some members find it helps just putting things down on here sometimes. Members here really do understand and want to help.

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hello and welcome, as said by Gosling, have a read around and see, 450 miles is a lot of distance to care for someone, it can't be easy for you.
For the record my boats are both of the canal type, don't do the Lumpy Water type of sailing. K

Sarah TF

Feb 29, 2024