priyass

Jan 13, 2014
This is my first time posting

Just in the last 6 months my 64 year old mother was just diagnosed with dementia, which everyone tells me she is very young to have it. She seems to be having a hard time adjusting to this new information. For years she has always been a wanderer while we were out shopping or out for a walk, for example while we would walk around the mall she would just stop at any store that she wanted but not say anything to anyone about stopping, we would just turn around and she would be gone. She would always put things away and forget where they were, for example one year she put away some tickets to a play and then couldn't remember where they were and everyone would just joke that she put them away for 'safe keeping'. Over the last few years things started to go down hill and my father finally was able to convince her to go to the doctor to have it checked out. I am glad that now there is finally an answer but it is scary also. I have noticed that since she received the diagnosis she has been more withdrawn and doesn't really like to go out anymore. Her and I used to go out all the time, shopping, for lunch, or for a walk, but now she likes to stay home. She has also been repeating the same questions and statements over and over, most people are very patient with her but others just don't understand that she is not doing it on purpose. I am glad that she feels safe at home but not liking that she seems scared to leave the house and be adventurous.

stanleypj

Dec 8, 2011
North West
Hello priyass, and welcome to TP. You probably know that dementia can strike at almost any age and, though it is far more likely to affect older people, there are many people of the same age as your mother, or younger than her, who are living with dementia.

Maybe it's not so surprising that your mum has been adversely affected by the diagnosis. Presumably she still has an awareness, at some level, of the siginificance of the diagnosis.