New here - Want to know about when to tell others of the dementia

Shiawase

Jul 2, 2024
Hello everyone,
I'm new here and have joined as my husband has been diagnosed with dementia. We haven't narrowed down what type yet, but I've been noticing signs and making notes of them for the past 2 1/2 years.
My husband still seems to be in denial - talks about how he has memory issues "it's just part of getting old" etc. He only acknowledges that he has issues coming up with words and has a hard time spelling sometimes. Of course I notice MUCH more and so did the doctors when he was tested.
I want to tell all our famly and close friends about the diagnosis, but he does not see any need / pupose in that. I have told a few people behind his back, but feel so guilty that I'm doing it against his wishes.
He has told me he wants to be treated kindly and with understanding (from me) - maybe he's afraid he'll be looked at diffently by them if they know? Maybe it's an ego thing? Maybe it's just the dementia and he can't comprehind what's really happening?
Ughhhh so hard to know what to say to him on this.

FrustratedFrog

Jul 2, 2024
Welcome!!
It’s a tricky one because he may feel so confused and conflicted about what’s going on with him and also indenial as we all are when we don’t feel ourselves but at the same time you need people to speak to openly about it without fear of affecting his wishes and you may also be telling people so that he has extra support down the line should he and you need it.
I would consider how many people know about it and who is being told. I would keep the circle very small and be weary of who they may also tell e.g are they are blabbers or close family like a sister whilst he has capacity or consider how he would feel if he was aware people knew without his authorisation or think how you may feel if you were him for now. I think you are right that his main reason is he’s worried he will be treated differently.