My wife recently diagnosed: all so puzzling

Puzzleman

Nov 17, 2018
Thank you for your welcome I'm new to this as you will know my wife has just been diagnosed with Alzheimers after having all sorts test latest being a pet scan which showed why her memory has got worse a long with other symptonsshe as stage 4 so yea its not sunk in yet so not sure how we should acting

nae sporran

Oct 29, 2014
Bristol
Hullo and welcome to TP, @Puzzleman.
I'm sorry your wife's diagnosis has brought you to us, and know it does take a wee while to sink in. You probably have information leaflets coming out of your ears, but I'll post a link to the Society factsheets in case it helps https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/about-dementia/types-dementia/alzheimers-disease.
Take your time t browse a few threads and settle in, but you may want to find memory cafes in your area and you may want to see if your wife will give you power of attorney for which Age UK were helpful in our case. Best wishes and I'll hopefully see you on the forum.

Puzzleman

Nov 17, 2018
Puzzleman: hi everyone this only my second reply my wife has early stages of Alzheimers she is at stage 3/4 so early days yet difficult for me to get my head around it. But at least we are talking about things together we have a strong family network which is key i'm told.

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Puzzleman and welcome to Talking Point.
Im sorry to hear about your wife - it is indeed hard to get your head round everything and can be a steep learning curve, but Im glad that you are getting support from your family

Puzzleman

Nov 17, 2018