My Dad's behaviour is making me ill

Vivien85

Mar 27, 2014
Hello. We are currently in the process of having my Dad assessed for dementia and memory problems and are awaiting the follow-up appointment after him having a brain scan. The problem is I just cannot handle the stress he puts on me and it is putting my blood pressure up and I shake and my heart thumps when he is in one of his moods. He pushes and pushes me about trivial things, like letters and he gets sarcastic and talks to me as if I were stupid. Today we have had a falling out because he left some letters with me this morning as he couldn't cope with them, but while one needed attention, the others were from 2007. He left me 5 messages on my phone while I was out, saying he wanted the letters back, yet he had only just left them with me and said I had forced him to do that. He would not listen and we ended up arguing. In the end I asked him to leave, which I have never done before. I know I should be more patient and stay calm, but I have had enough and I just wish he would leave me alone. Any tips on how I can lessen the stress on myself would be appreciated, and how to handle him. He lives alone, a few minutes away from me. Thank you.

VickyG

Feb 6, 2013
Birmingham