Mum has dementia, in denial. Will not discuss or speak to doctor. HELP!

MERMAID1

May 6, 2023
Hi everyone, I'm new to this but hope maybe someone can advise me as I'm (along with the rest of the family) at wits end! My mum has had dementia for the last 3 years, but is in complete denial. I think she is scared as she cared for both her parents who had dementia so she knows what's coming. I managed to tag along to a doctors appointment 2 years ago and flagged up her memory problems. The doctor did a quick memory test, which she struggled to do, and then said she would book an appointment at the memory clinic. The letter was "lost"/my mum binned it- so it never happened. This has happened again recently. After the appointment my mum refused to speak to me for several weeks. Things are deteriorating in terms of remembering appointments, eating properly (has lost a lot of weight), becoming aggressive with my dad, no interest in anything. She hardly drives anywhere now, but last week she did and forgot how to drive. She suddenly couldn't get the car in any gear, but blamed the car. All the family are really worried and we have all tried different approaches, but she either gets really upset and says her life is over, or denies there is a problem. Without a diagnosis, we cant get help/support. My sister has asked my mum if she can help out with medical appointments, but my mum says there is no problem and she wont sign anything which will allow access to her medical records. What do can you do if someone refuses to acknowledge there is a problem, so you don't ever get a diagnosis.??? Thanks for reading.

Dee M

Apr 4, 2022