Mother has Alzheimer's

Katy57

Mar 23, 2024
Hi. My mother has late onset Alzheimer's and has just gone into a care home. I'm struggling with guilt and fear for her mental well being.

Mum is 98 and has lived alone for virtually half her life. My sister and I have been sharing her care for 6 yrs, assisted by daily carer visits for the past year. As mum's mobility and cognition declined we made the decision to move her into a residential care home. This is something she has always feared and rejected. She's been there three days and we've visited daily, but she's not coping well. She's confused and afraid. I feel as if I've handed my child over to complete strangers and I don't know what to do for the best. Is this irrational/normal?

Last edited:

backin

Feb 6, 2024
The guilt monster is normal I'm afraid but deep down you realise that this had to happen to keep her safe.
Have the home suggested that you don't visit for a while to let her get settled into the routine? Have you spoken to the home to see how she is when you are not around?

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Katy57

Im afraid this is normal when someone first moves into a care home - your mum doesnt understand where she is and/or why she is there and you cannot explain the reason to her because reasoning is beyond her. It will take time for your mum to learn the routine of the home, its layout and to recognise and trust the carers.
It usually takes a couple of months for them to adjust.
In the meantime, keep your visits short and sweet so that she can learn to swap her dependence on you to the carers

The guilt is normal too - you know in your head that this is best for her, but it will take a while for this to get from your head to your heart
xxx

Katy57

Mar 23, 2024
The guilt monster is normal I'm afraid but deep down you realise that this had to happen to keep her safe.