Mild congenative imparement

Jan57

Feb 4, 2023
Hi my name is Jan

I have been attending the memory clinic at my local hospital for the past 4 years..l have been diagnosed with a mild form of Altzimers ( A mild congenative imparement ) l attend my local hospital once every 6 months to do memory puzzles and arnser questions etc..lts been very tough over the last 5 months as l lost my Mum in September last year l lived with and looked after my Mum as l was her Carer..lm now living on my own..and at the moment l dont really see alot of people except my two brothers who both live further away and have a couple of near by cousins and friends that visit sometimes but apart from that l dont see anyone..All my close friends live up North as l lived up North a while back..so really the only interiation l have with people is on facebook or lnstagram..My two brothers visit as much as they can..That is why l have joinend this group so l can chat to other people..

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
Welcome to Dementia Talking Point @Jan57. I'm glad you've found us.
Sorry that you haven't got any close friends nearby, I can imagine looking after your mum meant you didn't have many opportunities to go out and meet people.
It might be a good idea to look out for groups to join to get to know people nearby. I'm a member of the University of the 3rd Age and the Ramblers. The former has loads of different activities and the latter is great if you like walking and chatting to people. If you google U3A or Ramblers and your local area you should get a link to what's available near you. It might be worth looking on Facebook too for what's on near you.
This is a very friendly and supportive place and I'm sure others will be along soon with their suggestions.

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Welcome to the forum from me too @Jan57.