Legal advice re. brother living in Dad's house after Dad goes into nursing home

areemhaitch

Jan 9, 2023
Hello, this is my first time posting here as I'm after some advice - I have searched online but can't seem to find a definitive answer.

I will try to keep it brief. This week my Dad is moving into a nursing home as he has been placed on end of life care and has a DNR. This is to be funded by the NHS. My brother has been living with and acting as my Dad's carer for the past 2.5 years, it is my Dad's house, owned outright. Myself, my brother and sister have joint POA (both financial and health) and my Dad's bank accounts that have been paying utilities, maintenance costs on the house and food costs, etc. since my brother moved in with him.

I've advised my brother to stop using my Dad's bank account to pay for food immediately when Dad goes into care and I'm also aware that he will need to stop claiming Carer's Allowance (after 28 days I think)? I'm less clear on how the utility bills should be managed - will my brother now become responsible for these since my Dad will not benefit from paying them from his own accounts? Also, is my brother now expected to pay rent or can he continue to live in the house for free until my Dad passes, which is sadly not likely to be very far off in the future.

I don't know if it's worth adding that my Dad's will leaves his house/savings split equally between me and my two siblings. My brother is in his 30s and my Dad's home is his main home, ie. he does not own or rent his own property anywhere else.

Any advice on anyone who has been through similar or anyone with legal knowledge would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Jessbow

Mar 1, 2013
Midlands
Your brother should be picking up the day to day bills now- anything major to do with the house your father should prob still pay for as he owns the property.