Is diagnosis worth knowing

Sheila718

Mar 12, 2024
my Husbands just been referred for a ct scan prior to being referred to the memory clinic. We are unsure whether to go down this route or ignore. What benefit is there in knowing you have an ALZHEIMERS diagnosis or would you be happier not knowing

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hello and welcome. Get it done, his issues could be something else like a tumor or is in my case viral encephalitis which may be treatable.
Please get the scan done, if not for a diagnosis at least to rule out other possibilities.
I've had a few CT scans and I'd rather have another than giving blood sample, I hate doing that and I used to be a nurse. K

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
There are lots of different types of dementia, not just Alzheimers
The main advantage of knowing which type of dementia you have is in medication. Some drugs can only be given to a particular type of dementia (eg donepezil can only be used for Alzheimers) and other types of dementia cannot be given some medication (eg with Lewy Body Dementia there are quite a few drugs that you cant give)

If you have a diagnosis of dementia (any type) it is easier to get benefits - Attendance Allowance and then Council Tax disregard. There are usually dementia hubs or other activities which are designed for people with dementia and often offer support and information to their carers, but you cant access them without a diagnosis. As the dementia progresses, day care, respite and (ultimately) a care home may become necessary, but places that would be suitable will only accept people with a diagnosis.

I know all of this as OH does not have a diagnosis (long story) and I truly wish that he had.

Ellie2018

Jun 26, 2023
I’d reiterate everything Canary says. At some point, you will need some support and it’s often easier if you are already ‘in the system’.

Angel55

Oct 23, 2023
💗 Hello