I often wonder if COPD cause's alzheimers.

Another-David

Sep 13, 2009
Hi Newbie here.
I was diagnosed with alpha1"copd related" some ten years ago.
I am 55 so I am expecting to lose some of my marbles eventually but now and again I forget some many little things like things I say to the family.
My worry stems from my mum she died sometime back from alzheimers
We were never really close "1 of 9 kids there had to be troublesome black sheep":).
Anyways she died of the illness after years of mood swings and literally just walking out in the middle of the night in her nighty at winter time.
Pretty rough stuff for the rest of the family.
When I did see her I noticed she was always complaining of headaches and she couldn't breath properly and she became housebound.
Now here is my worry it was some years back now and in those days the NHS were very slow at diagnosing alpha1 infact they are still very slow these days if you ask me.
I reckon looking back at her symptoms that she may have had alpha1,because they are identical to mine.
Which causes me to wonder if alzheimers could be caused by lack of oxygen to the brain.

Sandy

Mar 23, 2005
Hi Another-David,

Welcome to Talking Point (TP).

If you have concerns about your memory, you really need to discuss them with your GP.

Many conditions, including anxiety and depression, can affect a person's memory.

There have been discussions about COPD in the past on TP:

http://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/showthread.php?t=11445&highlight=COPD

You have a rarer, genetic form of COPD, is that right:

http://www.alpha1awareness.org.uk/alpha1.htm

The only references that I can find to COPD and dementia suggest that if someone has dementia and also has a condition like COPD, if the COPD is not properly treated it can make the dementia worse:

http://www.merck.com/pubs/mmanual_ha/sec3/ch27/ch27a.html: