How can I help my mum who has dementia and keeps waking up in the night

Janthe1st

Oct 9, 2016
Sheerness
Hi all I am new to talking point, my mum who is 84 and has dementia and cancer and only has months to live bless her keeps waking up confused in the night and thinks it is morning, my mum lives with myself and my husband and has don't for the past five years, mum was only diagonesed with dementia 5 months ago and then last month we found out she has cancer and only has months to live which is so hard for us to take in, the good thing is mum forgets she is dying which I think is good, but because she is so ill her dementia has escalated quickly and we are finding it hard to cope with or know how to help her, and night times are getting hard most nights I am sleeping in her room so that when she wakes up I can comfort her and tell her it is still night time, she is taking meds to help her relax and sleep but they did help but not now, any advise on how to help her would be grateful care home not an option so need to find a way to help her hope you can point me in the right direction thanks Janet x

Pinkys

Nov 13, 2014
South of England
I find it very moving to think of you being there to comfort your mother during these long nights.

I can only think about sensory things. Blackout curtains, so it remains very dark, until morning. Maybe some scented oils, to encourage sleepiness, and make a strong association with night. Soft velvety pillows, or similar. Soothing music in a loop.

In all cases, change everything when dawn comes. Brighter light, a different scent and take away the pillows.

No doubt others will have other ideas.

chris53

Nov 9, 2009
London