Hiding food

viksmeister

Jan 2, 2013
Happy new year to everyone. My mother in law has Alzheimer's. We have just found out that my father in law has been forgetting to give her, her medication and hence she has got worse over the last few months. Just wondered is anyone could help us and give us some ideas on how to deal with her. She has started to get more childlike over the last few months. Just wanting to eat chocolate and when we give her meals to her she either chews a few times and then hides the food in a tissue, or just takes from the plate and puts in a tissue. We have started to hide her chocolate so she only will have a few in the box at a time. We have tried to take the tissue away but she says her nose is running and will not eat without them. Any ideas how we should deal with this. Should we be firm, ignore it.

jeany123

Mar 24, 2012
Durham
Hello viksmeister and welcome to TP I am sorry I have no experience of what you describe but I am just bumping your thread up to the top and I am sure someone will be along soon who can help ,

Best Wishes

Jeany x

rjm

Jun 19, 2012
Ontario, Canada
Hi Viksmeister,