Hi I'm a newbie. 😘 Mum has Alzheimers

Marmalademudpie

Dec 14, 2023
Hi all

I'm currently sorting mums medical care, food shopping, care visits from care company. Run a rota between siblings. I suffer with m.e myself so struggle with it all as I crash n 'burn.
Anyway can anyone help me understand a few things I've filled in her financial assistance form after over 12 months of not doing it, due to my own health. I don't understand how it works. It's towards the adult social care support at home. She has 9,500 in bank, Attendance allowance full higher award. No assets, state pension, pension credit guarantee. No property owned. First question....
Do they take most of her money towards the in her home care? 4 visits day.
If she goes into residential, and say council award 700 at a stab guess, do they pay that then we add her pension and AA on top to make it higher?
I'm even wondering if it is a good idea to make my downstairs in my house livable to her needs so I'm on hand, but I'm not up to the reg caring myself. Any advice re this appreciated. She has had x 3 falls in the night and adult social care seem to think she's still OK in her own home alone. She went loo in the kitchen bin the other night as she's alone, she's increasingly anxious and scared when left 😢😔

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Marmalademudpie

It sounds to me as though your mum really needs to be in a care home, but I know that Social Services will not generally agree to this unless the person with dementia has tried having in carers 4 times a day and this has been shown to be insufficient. SS wont normally fund more than this in someones own home, so the next step would be a care home.

Do they take most of her money towards the in her home care? 4 visits day.
As your mum has less than £16,000 in savings, SS would fully fund 4 care visits a day (but not more)