Help for carers

deez_swarb

Jun 9, 2014
Basildon
Hi, i dont know if i have posted in the right bit as it is my first time on here. But i am after a bit of advice please.

Just over a year ago my uncle was diagnosed. My auntie has become his full time carer. Although he is no means in the later stages of the illness he is getting worse at quite a noticeable rate.

I feel that my auntie is struggling to cope and isnt getting the support she needs from her sons. I have said i will go to a support group with her and im in the process of trying to find out the times and dates of our local one, with out much success, but i wont gice up on the idea.

Anyway, my auntie found out that me, my mum and sister plan on going on holiday next year and she has asked if she can come as she sats she just needs a week off from looking after my uncle. Which i completely understand. She has said that as her sons dont seem willing to help care for their father while she is away then she will sort out some kind of restbite care for my uncle whether it is going into a home or having carers come to visit. She says that she has spoken to my uncle and he is fine with it.

However her sons are adamant and have said that there is no way she can go on holiday with my uncle the way he is. And that she will just have to wait.

Unfortunately i disagree quite strongly with this and feel that my auntie needs a bit of a break just for one week. I know she is finding it hard and feel a week to recharge her batteries would do her the world of good.

As i am none the wiser what is the best thing to do in the situation, and whether going away and putting someone in to restbite is seen as not beneficial and not advised. Or if it is advised, i was just wondering if someone with more experience of alzheimers and what is the best thing to do, could advise me whether it would be good for my auntie to get away for a week or whether that week that she is apart from my uncle would have a very damaging affect.