Full of anxiety because of mum

Kaos012

Feb 19, 2019
Hi, I'm new to this but I feel that I'm in need of some good advice. My mum who's 90, is in a nursing home because she can't walk due to arthritis. She's been there for a few years and likes it. She was diagnosed with unspecified dementia quite a few years ago and up until now has been sort of okay apart from forgetting things, repeating things etc. She's always up for a laugh but recently things have taken a turn for the worse.
My lovely dad passed away 9 years ago and the last couple of weeks she's been asking for him, asking where he is, asking when he died and is getting very upset by this as she can't remember things. She even asked me how she was going to live without him and was crying and very agitated. You can have a lovely conversation for a couple of hours and then she mentions it again. I don't understand it. I then go home after seeing her and feel totally, utterly anxious for the rest of the day, so much so that I don't want to eat, do anything and feel sick with worry. I sit here and imagine her getting upset about my dad and getting confused. The staff are lovely but to be honest with you I don't know how to cope with these sad feelings. I hope someone can help me. How do I not think about her every day and worry? Sorry guys I just find it hard to just get on with stuff. Thanks.

karaokePete

Jul 23, 2017
N Ireland
Hello @Kaos012 you are welcome here and I hope you find the forum to be a friendly and supportive place.

If this is a recent development it's just possible that an infection of some sort, like a UTI is responsible. Maybe this could be checked and, if anything is found, treated as this may roll back the current downturn. When you dad is mentioned the best thing to do is to try to divert the conversation or your mum's attention as she will just continually relive the loss due to her loss of memory.