Design and Dementia

Cladams95

Mar 20, 2017
Hi,

I'm a final year undergraduate student currently doing my final year project on design and dementia. I'm hoping to gain a better understanding of how design can impact a person with dementias life, primarily through the use of consumer products.

If anyone would be willing to share their opinions and/or experiences of using products that are specifically aimed at for use by people with Dementia, I would greatly appreciate it.

Many thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hi Cladams95
maybe you would give some examples of things you know of and are interested in, then members, who often have limited time could comment on the items you mention

do have a good read around the site as there are many threads discussing aids and gadgets

Cladams95

Mar 20, 2017
hi Cladams95
maybe you would give some examples of things you know of and are interested in, then members, who often have limited time could comment on the items you mention

do have a good read around the site as there are many threads discussing aids and gadgets

Hi Shedrech,

Thank you for your advice. The products I'm primarily interested in are everyday items such as medication dispensers, dementia days of the week clocks, dementia friendly phones, voice recording reminder technology and also products such as Odes that stimulate the appetite of a person to remind them to eat.

Ideally I would like some first hand opinions on how useful users found these products, or potential problems users may have had with any of these products.

Thank you again.

HillyBilly

Dec 21, 2015
Ireland
If you use the search facility above, you will find lots of threads in which people "review" their success (or otherwise) in using such gadgets :)

CeliaW

Jan 29, 2009
Hampshire
Hello Cladams95