Dementia focussed university project feedback

Oliversamuel

May 5, 2016
Hi Everyone!

I am a final year design student at Loughborough University currently undertaking my final year project.

At the start of the year whilst researching for possible ideas that I could explore for my project I began researching ways to help people suffering from dementia maintain a healthy sleep cycle. This led to bright light therapy and the beneficial effect it can have helping sundowning and maintaining a heathy circadian rhythm.

During the research I also learned the term 'burnout' and read abut the physical toll caring takes on the caregiver. After reading about it I knew I wanted to design a product that could be beneficial for both the carer and cared-for.

After reading numerous scientific articles about bright light therapy and aromatherapy and the positive effects they can have, I was surprised to find no published research about the combined use of both treatments. This gave me the idea for my project.

A device that combines controlled doses of bright light with aroma, using two senses to maintain a healthy sleep cycle.

The bright lights and aroma would helped the cared for and the aroma would hopefully create calmer atmosphere for the carer.

The device uses two sets of lights one set of 6000k light (cool white) and one set of 3000K (warm white) representing morning and evening. Inside the device is a two part aroma diffuser, this is so different aromas could be smelled at different times of the day for example. In the morning a grapefruit essential oil could be set which is known to increase alertness and mental activity and in the evening lavender could be set to relax and promote sleep.

The device can be programmed to come on at different times of the day using an app for an iphone or ipad such as coming on early in the morning increasing the brightness to mimic the sun rising and vice versa for the sun setting.