Care Homes in Thailand

Hongky

Feb 21, 2022
Hi, my husband has relatively advanced dementia and I have been caring for him for the past 10 years. It won't be long before we have to start looking at homes, but where we live they start at about GBP1500 per week. This is just not viable for us so I am researching ones in Thailand 1:1 care start at about GBP1200 per MONTH, and I wondered if anyone has done it and their thoughts about it. I'd be grateful for any advice thank you.

Jaded'n'faded

Jan 23, 2019
High Peak
Wow - that's a big difference and you would not get 1-1 care here for £1500 anyway...

I'm assuming you/your husband have some connection with Thailand? Would you move there too?

Hongky

Feb 21, 2022
Yes I have contacts there and I would relocate there. The care seems to be much more thorough than here but would really like to connect with someone who has done it.

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hello @Hongky
a warm welcome to DTP
I don't know about care homes elsewhere ... though am concerned about your future as uprooting will have a major effect

and am wondering whether you have checked about paying your husband's care home fees as you mention 'us' rather than 'he'

any fees are paid only from your husband's income and savings plus half of any joint assets, not any of yours, and your home is disregarded so you won't be asked to sell it ... you can be gifted half of any of his private pensions (not state pension)
should your husband's savings fall below £23250 the Local Authority will begin to contribute, if his income does not cover the fees
so although the care fees in your area may be higher than your husband can afford indefinitely, there is financial support available

Hongky

Feb 21, 2022
Thank you for setting this out clearly but it won't really change our situation. Appreciate the support.

Bod

Aug 30, 2013