Care Home Update

Andyp101

Dec 5, 2017
Hi All,

I'm sorry for the absence for this site. I resolved to return to let everybody know how Mum is getting on in her CH. It has been five weeks now. It was going to be a humourous piece about my Mum and how well she is being locked after (and she is) but recent events have overtook me a little.

Anyway, a bit of background. I have been caring for Mum for 2 years by myself 24/7. She is 81 and in the latter stages of dementia. Toward the end of our time she was getting difficult, occasionally aggressive, nearly always sharp, always depressed and angry. I had no help as the family had (through issues too long to go into here but on other threads) withdrawn what little labour they offered in favour of spite and vitriol.

It took a long time to find a suitable CH. Mum went in and loved it. It is questionable how much she knows but she is happy, loving and loved.

The SW visited her today. It took her 25 minutes to get Mum from the dining room to her room. A 2 minute walk lengthened by Mum's insistence on stopping at every staff member and hugging them, kissing them and telling them she loves them. This is including the 2 men from outside who have come to repair the lift.

I bought her a new dress last weekend. She thought it was too nice for her to wear, insisting I wear it. I was tempted but that's another forum entirely.

One of the staff approached me about showering my Mum. I knew this was difficult. Mum would scream, shout, cry. It used to tear my heart out. She did the same here. The woman went home in tears. She said, 'Your Mum is such a sweetie, I felt horrible causing her so much pain'. You could argue the woman she be used to such things being a veteran of the care industry but I look upon it as a compliment to my Mum's normal behaviour. Mum is a sweetie.

I have arranged with the Manager for them to try bathing my Mum. To see if she will be more responsive.