Can't feed mum

jelba

Aug 1, 2012
Huddersfield
Mum been in hospital with throat problems now back in care home but salt team put in the discharge letter that only carers or nurses can feed or drink to my mum and I'm no longer allowed as they don't want me to be responsible if something goes wrong but carers won't put the effort in than I do and can see her suffering because of it should I contact salt team to explain the situation or the manager thank you

Amethyst59

Jul 3, 2017
Kent
If you are worried...and you are, then I would definitely talk to the manager. I would imagine that it has been written into your mum’s care plan what staff need to do? I’m not experienced in this, but my instinct would be to talk to the manager before the salt team. See if you get a good result there first...it will keep them ‘on side’.

jelba

Aug 1, 2012
Huddersfield
Also her drink got to be down on a spoon and no longer though a cup and thickner must be used can't see carers doing that as it take ages to get drink down my mum especially as care home is short staffed half the time

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Also her drink got to be down on a spoon and no longer though a cup and thickner
This is really common in later stages of dementia - I used to see it happening all the time in mums care home. Im assuming that the SALT team are worried about aspiration leading to pneumonia. Yes talk to the manager about it when she gets back.

yak55

Jun 15, 2015
Mum been in hospital with throat problems now back in care home but salt team put in the discharge letter that only carers or nurses can feed or drink to my mum and I'm no longer allowed as they don't want me to be responsible if something goes wrong but carers won't put the effort in than I do and can see her suffering because of it should I contact salt team to explain the situation or the manager thank you
I'm so sorry to hear about your mums drinking problems, heartbreaking to witness x