A rollercoaster ride

pahaps

Aug 16, 2016
Devon
I'm relatively new to this forum and only started posting in mid-August when Dad came to visit for 10 days. He was diagnosed with AD about 18 months ago but has changed so much in the last 3 months or so. I found his visit intensely stressful for many reasons and it was a milestone in his - and our - journey. It gave me a glimpse into what life is like for Dad and those who care for him.
I am 250 miles away from him and Mum and caring from a distance is becoming more and more difficult. I say that in the knowledge that many people posting have it far worse than me and I can only offer sincere best wishes to all of you out there dealing with your loved ones in the best way you can.
I get to Liverpool when I can which is largely restricted to school holidays as I'm a teacher. I'm going up in October to give Mum a break. My brother also does a great deal for them both but our relationship is not good.
My missus is a nurse and has been very supportive in offering her advice to me and my folks. She's going through a very difficult time at work and I've tried very hard lately not to overload her with my feelings about Dad.
That's why I'm finding this forum incredibly important at the moment as an outlet for my thoughts. I'm sorry for not offering advice to others as I still feel like a novice. I am truly grateful to anyone though who has offered advice, support and kind words to me though. Thank you.
This last week has epitomised the rollercoaster ride that is living with dementia. In the course of several phone calls I listened to Mum as she outlined another in a series of aggressive outbursts from Dad. These happen mostly in the evening (sundowning?!) and have become more sexual. This is really upsetting for Mum and she had to be rescued by her very kind neighbours a few nights ago. They're both well into their 70s and it's hard to imagine my Dad behaving like this.