Working wife

milliethepink

Aug 8, 2013
I need to work and I am a teacher. My husband has been having carers visiting for a few months, but it is only now, I am on summer holiday, that I have found out how inadequate this is.
They visit after I have left for about 15 minutes and try to get him up, dressed and washed. They mostly fail. He doesn't know who they are, sometimes does not want to get up, and is not happy with being shouted at. They visit at lunch for 15-20 minutes and I find the sandwiches down the toilet or in a drawer when I get home.
He has been found in the road, sometimes without clothes.
They report back that he is aggressive and difficult; with me is co-operative for important things - meds and dress and sleep. But I can't stay home.
I had a very good neighbour but she now has a job. I had a lodger but she is now working all hours. Social Services seem to think this is OK.

Jan 3, 2013
Sidcup
He is at risk as a vulnerable adult if he is walking outside naked. I have just spent hours on the phone to social services in tears. Tell them you are desperate for help, cry and don't give up, make a nuisance of yourself. Do you think he is needing respite? Or even a CH?

None of this maybe of any help but hopefully others will come with other suggestions

Take care

x

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Can you have an official reassessment of your husbands needs. It certainly sounds as if he needs much more care than he's currently getting.

I can understand your difficulties. I was a headteacher until I retired in January. I could not have continued with my job without the care package we have. I use direct payments and organise the Carers myself with the support of Dundee Carers Centre (Princess Royal Trust for Carers). With this I have the same Carers Monday to Friday and Bill has got to know them. I don't take careers at the weekend.