Waiting for Appointment at Memory Clinic

Lakeland67

Jul 24, 2023
Carlisle
Hi, my husband is 61, we are at present waiting for appointment at Memory Clinic. His memory has never been brilliant, but back in April he ended up in hospital with dangerously high blood pressure. We now have this under control but his memory is getting worse and I’m pretty safe to say I notice things on a daily basis. Gp referred him to memory matters but also put him on anti-depressants as he does get depressed (mainly due to not remembering simple things). Situation has changed in the last week as work has now deemed him unfit to work due to his memory problems (he’s an engineer and sheet fabricator by trade). I have spoken with Memory Team and explained the situation, they are saying it is upto 6 months waiting for appointment although they would take his case to their team meeting today. I have also again spoken with gp due to his rapid decline - could he have had stroke (this runs in family) could it be a brain tumour? All gp says is he didn’t present symptoms of either of these and for me to keep calling memory clinic. Not sure what to do next, there’s definitely something going on in his brain, all we need is a diagnosis so we can deal with it, it’s the not knowing 😢

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @Lakeland67

At least the memory team will discuss your husband today. I hope something comes from this. He is too young to wait 6 months for a diagnosis.

If your husband has been classed as unfit for work it's really serious. I wonder if the Dementia Helpline could help you further You have nothing to lose by contacting them.

Lakeland67

Jul 24, 2023
Carlisle
Thanks @Grannie G, I spoke with them Friday and he has been allocated two nurses who will meet with us at home, he doesn’t think he has a problem, hopefully we will get some answers.

tricia turner

Aug 3, 2023