Very new to this

Toby photos

Hi
I am very new to all this dementia and have been suspecting this with my mother for some years now, but have only just had her formally diagnosed, and has Altzymers + vascular dementia.
we have been given a drug called Donepezil but don't know if this will make any difference.

Having read lots of things about this condition, at times I find it very distressing and other times I don't have a problem.

well that me just briefly as I don't really know what else to say. maybe I will be able to join in with other discussions / conversations as time goes on , or maybe offer some help to others in roundabout way without me knowing. who knows?? :cool:

oldfella

Hi Toby, welcome to TP, my wife has just been taken off Donepezil after 5 years, it seemed to help until recently when she become very agitated and started lashing out for no apparent reason. Since coming off the medication about 1 month ago she has calmed down, I still get the odd moments of aggression but not as often as before.
I'm sure as time goes on you will find talking point of great help and you will undoubtedly give help to others as we all experience similar but very different situations.
Keep smiling and remember you are not alone in coping with this hideous illness.

sunset 11

Hi Toby, MY husband has been on Donezepil for 5 yrs now and finding it fine, he also takes Citalopram which is a mild anti depressant which keeps him calm.
He's had alzheimers 5yrs now, he is slowly getting worse with things ie dressing doing silly things and saying words that don't make sense.
But we carry on as best we can, I'm his soul carer, we get out and about as much as we can, we have joined the local memory café and singing for the brain which we both enjoy. good luck for the future and were all here to help

Pepper&Spice